Early Childhood Development

Early Childhood Development Program

AA – Early Childhood Development

This degree requires 31 units of work in ECD and includes theoretical courses, hands-on application classes, and a supervised work experience (practicum) opportunity. General education courses are also required for the AA Degree in ECD. Graduates are qualified as Teachers. Graduates may transfer to a four-year institution. With eight additional units in administration and supervision graduates are qualified to be at the site supervisor level on the Child Development Permit.

Freshman Year

Courses Units
ECD 50 - Principles and Practices 3
ECD 56 - Child Growth and Development 3
ECD 62 - Child, Family and Community 3
ECD 63 - Early Childhood Curriculum 4
ECD 95/96 - Work Experience and Work Experience Seminar 2
General Education Units  
Total Units 30


Sophomore Year

Courses Units
ECD 54 - Child Health, Safety and Nutrition 3
ECD 60 - Introduction to the Young Child with Exceptional Needs 3
ECD 69 - Child Study: Observation and Assessment 3
ECD 79- Teaching in a Diverse Society 3
ECD 90 - Practicum - Supervised Work Experience 4
General Education  
Total Units Required for AA Degree in Early Childhood Development 60


Print this Page Email this Page

Page last modified: April 25, 2017