Skip to main content
Black History Month @ LPC
Posted by Las Positas College On February 13, 2019

Black History Month

The LPC, Black Student Union and Watemi (the LPC Counsel of Elders for Black and Brown Students) are proud to present African American History Month. We have specially curated a month of events for LPC, and they include art exhibits, speakers, a step exhibition, a campus-wide read (you get a free book!), and more.

Monday, February 4
@ 12:15 pm

Singing of the Black National Anthem, LPC Quad

Monday, February 4
@ 6:30 pm

Opening Reception: Joha Harrison, Unmasking the Culture Art Exhibit, 4000 Gallery, runs until 2/14

Thursday, February 7
@ 7:00 pm

Performance by Brian Copeland: Not a Genuine Black Man, 4000 Building

Monday, February 11
@ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

BSU Presents: Colorism Talk, "What is Colorism?", Black Box Theatre, 4000 building

Wednesday, February 13
@ 2:30 pm

BSU & LPCSG Presents: screening of The Black Panther, LPC Cafeteria

Thursday, February 14
@ 12:30 pm

#TBT: Obama's Best Moments in honor of President's Day, LPC Cafeteria

Tuesday, February 19
@ 5:00 pm

Opening Reception: 1,001 Black Men, Ajuan Mance, 4000 Building, runs until 2/28

Thursday, February 21
@ 7:00 pm

Dr. Harry Edwards "Taking A Knee: Understanding A Tradition of Athlete Resistance" Main Theatre, 4000 Building

Tuesday, February 26
@ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Campus Read and Discussion of Understanding Jim Crow with Michelle Gonzales & Kisha Turner Black Box Theatre, 4000 Building

Wednesday, February 27
@ 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm

Club Day/Step Exhibition Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, LPC Quad

Thursday, February 28
@ 4:30 pm

Closing Ceremony & Keynote Speaker Ashanti Branch Presents: The Mask You Live In, Room 2420