

Las Positas College Student Government Special Senate Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, May 2, 2023 | 4:00 PM

I. CALL TO ORDER (1 min)

L. Wiedemeier calls the meeting to order at 4:00pm, Recess for five minutes, Called back to order at 4:05pm

Lara Wiedemeier calls a two minute recess at 4:07pm, and calls another recess for 10 minutes starting from 4:11pm, which is called back at 4:21pm

II. ROLL CALL

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Lara Wiedemeier - President (Chair) -P
Morgan Minkler - Vice President -P
Fernando Torres - Director of Legislation -P
Lena Munad - Director of Communication -P

Mona Gholikhamseh - Director of Events -A(unexcused)

Vacant - Director of Programs and Services

Brody Price - Director of Finance -P
Armina Rahman - Director of Inter-Club Council (ICC) -P

STUDENT TRUSTEE

Alexa Sumitra - Las Positas College (LPC) Student Trustee

SENATORS

Omar Au
Regina Aguas
-A

Evren Yuncuoglu -Tardy(4:15pm)

Brenda Loza -P
Shreshth Sarin -P
Vishva Parmar -A

ADVISORS

Shawn Taylor - Director of Student Equity and Success -A

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of Student Life & Leadership -P

III. QUORUM (1 min)

Quorum is established with 10 out of 13 voting members

IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Brody Price motions, Omar Au seconds - motion passes

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

B. Price motions, A. Rahman seconds approval of minutes from 3.28.2023 Emergency Senate Meeting

VI. GUEST SPEAKERS

- Alternative Academic Calendar Year Presentation: Vice Chancellor Theresa Fleischer Rowland and Jason Ames
- VII. PUBLIC COMMENT (3 minutes per person) Students and members of the public are encouraged to speak on any topic during public comment. Each individual is limited to three minutes. If students or members of the public wish to address an item on the agenda during the meeting or ask questions during the meeting, they need to be recognized by the Chairperson by both raising their hand and speaking out their name. Their comment is limited to three minutes. (CA Education Code 72121.5 and Government Code 54954.3)

VII. NEW BUSINESS

Senator	M. Minkler will recommend Senators to be appointed	5 minutes
Appointments	Morgan Minkler recommends Omar Au, Shreshth Sarin,	
-	Evren Yuncuoglu, Brenda Loza, and Mehtaab Bath to be	
Morgan Minkler	senators for the 2023-2024 term.	
	Omar Au motions, Vishva Parmar seconds - motion passes	
Election Results	F. Torres & L. Wiedemeier will provide an update on the	10 minutes
-	LPCSG 2023-2024 Election, provide the validified	
Fernando Torres &	election results, and announce the 2023-2023 Executive	
Lara Wiedemeier	Board.	
	Fernando Torres discusses the elections and how the	
	turnout had the best results so far. He lists the newly	
	elected members of the cabinet for the 2023-2024 term.	
	Omar Au is the lead for LPC student trustee, but Chabot	
	has to add in their results after sifting through them. The	
	final results for student trustee will be announced on	
	Thursday, May 4th.	
	2023-2024 Academic Year LPCSG Cabinet:	
	President: Brody Price	
	Vice President: Alexa Sumitra	
	Director of Finance: Nada Ibrahim	
	Director of Events: Mehrsa Gholikhamseh	
	Director of ICC: Shreshth Sarin	
	Director of Communications: Lena Munad	
	Director of Programs & Services: Aayan Ahmad	
	Director of Legislation: Jai Puli	

CBRC Bylaws Revision - Fernando Torres	F. Torres will present an LPCSG Bylaws Revision approved by the LPCSG CBRC to the Senate for feedback and approval to be voted upon at the next Senate Meeting. Fernando Torres presents the list of recommended changes to the Bylaws. Section 5, Common Agreements, is added to Article IV: General Provisions. Section 6: Ethics Statement is added to Article IV. Section 7: Role of the LPCSG Advisor is added to Article IV. Part K of Section 5 needs to be amended for clarification for future senators and members. Article II: Membership had Section 1: Qualifications of Senate, part e added. Section 7: Middle College Representatives was added to Article II. Section 8: Las Positas College Student Government Club Representative is added to Article II. There are new responsibilities for the Director of ICC, which will be renamed to Director of Club Engagement. Article III, Section 2: Succession of Office, part F has been added. Article IV: Section 2, Function has part C i and j and part D added. Each executive position has added responsibilities. Omar Au motions to move the final publication to Thursday, May 4th at the upcoming Senate Meeting. Brenda Loza seconds the motion - motion passes	20 minutes
End of the Year Celebration - Lara Wiedemeier	L. Wiedemeier will provide an update and lead a discussion about the End of the Year Celebration. The meeting was adjourned so this item could not be discussed.	15 minutes
LPCSG Recognitions - Lara Wiedemeier	L. Wiedemeier will present 2 nominees to vote upon to be recognized at the LPCSG End of the Year Celebration. The meeting was adjourned so this item could not be discussed.	5 minutes
Training Retreat - Lara Wiedemeier	L. Wiedemeier will present having an LPCSG Training retreat with 2023-2024 Newly Elected LPCSG Cohort with 2022-2023 LPCSG Cohort. The meeting was adjourned so this item could not be discussed.	5 minutes

IX. OFFICER REPORTS

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Lara Wiedemeier - President (Chair) Morgan Minkler - Vice President

Fernando Torres - Director of Legislation
Lena Munad - Director of Communication

Mona Gholikhamseh - Director of Events

Vacant - Director of Programs and Services

Brody Price - Director of Finance

Armina Rahman - Director of Inter-Club Council (ICC)

STUDENT TRUSTEE

Alexa Sumitra - Las Positas College (LPC) Student Trustee

SENATORS

Omar Au Regina Aguas Evren Yuncuoglu Brenda Loza Shreshth Sarin Vishva Parmar -

ADVISORS

Shawn Taylor - Director of Student Equity and Success

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of Student Life & Leadership

X. ANNOUNCEMENTS (3 mins)

XI. GOOD OF THE ORDER

XII. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting is adjourned at 5:32pm.