

Las Positas College Student Government Special Senate Meeting Minutes Friday, December 16, 2022 | 5:30PM | Zoom

I. CALL TO ORDER (1 min)

L. Wiedemeier called to order at 5:30 pm

II. ROLL CALL

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Lara Wiedemeier - President (Chair) -P

Vacant - Vice President

Vacant - Director of Legislation

Vacant - Director of Communication

Mona Gholikhamseh - Director of Events -P

-P

Sangavi Suresh Kumar - Director of Programs and Services

Vacant - Director of Finance

Vacant - Director of Inter-Club Council (ICC)

STUDENT TRUSTEE

Vacant - Las Positas College (LPC) Student Trustee

SENATORS

Fernando Torres - P
Armina Rahman - P
Lena Munad - P

ADVISORS

Shawn Taylor - Director of Student Equity and Success

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of Student Life & Leadership

III. QUORUM (1 min)

IV. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

VI. GUEST SPEAKERS

VII. PUBLIC COMMENT (3 minutes per person) Students and members of the public are encouraged to speak on any topic during public comment. Each individual is limited to three minutes. If students or members of the public wish to address an item on the agenda during the meeting or ask questions during the meeting, they need to be recognized by the Chairperson by both raising their hand and speaking out their name. Their comment is limited to three minutes. (CA Education Code 72121.5 and Government Code 54954.3)

IX. OLD BUSINESS

X. NEW BUSINESS

Vote to Stay Online	L. Wiedemeier will ask for a vote to stay online in	5 minutes
AB 361	compliance with AB 361.	
(Action)	-	
-	L. Wiedemeier asked for vote to keep meeting online for	
Lara Wiedemeier	meetings.	
	Motioned S. Suresh Kumar, seconded M. Gholikhamseh	
	as such.	
Special Elections	L. Wiedemeier will present LPCSG Executive Board	30 minutes
(Action)	applicants to LPCSG to vote upon.	
Lara Wiedemeier	-	
Lara Wiederneier	L. Wiedemeier presented candidates for election and	
	allowed them 3 minutes to speak before allowing LPCSG	
	voting members to vote for a candidate for each position.	
	The voting results and official LPCSG Officers are as follows:	
	Vice President: Elected - Morgan Minkler	
	-Brody Price: 2 votes	
	-Morgan Minkler: 3 votes	
	-Lena Munad: 0 votes	
	Director of Legislation: Elected - Fernando Torres	
	-Fernando Torres	
	-Morgan Minkler: Dropped out of running	
	Director of Communication- Lena Munad	
	-Lena Munad: 3 votes	
	-Sophia Salehifar: 2 votes	
	Director of Interclub Council: Elected – Armina	
	Rahmad	
	-Armina Rahmad	
	Director of Finance: Elected – Brody Price	

	-Brody Price	
	-Sophia Salehifar: Dropped out running	
	All elected officers accepted their positions.	
Special Election for	L. Wiedemeier will announce the LPC Student Trustee	3 minutes
Student Trustee (Informational)	applicants to LPCSG to vote upon.	
- Lara Wiedemeier	L. Wiedemeier announced that Alexa Sumitra, Mona Gholikhamseh, and Sophia Salehifar.	
Senator	L. Wiedemeier will formally recommend Senator	10 minutes
Appointments to LPCSG	applicants to be approved as LPCSG Senators as stipulated in LPCSG Bylaws.	
(Action)	-	
- Lara Wiedemeier	L. Wiedemeier recommended Omar Au and Alexa Sumitra to the Senate.	
	S. Kumar motioned, M. Gholikhamseh seconded	
LPCSG Officer Stipends (Actions)	L. Wiedemeier will review the LPCSG Bylaws, ask for officers' report on fulfillment of duties, and seek approval of LPCSG Scholarships as stipulated the LPCSG Bylaws.	20 minutes
-	President - Lara Wiedemeier: \$1,300	
Lara Wiedemeier	M. Minkler motioned, F. Torres seconded	
	Roll call:	
	Lara Wiedemeier- Abstain	
	Morgan Minkler- Aye	
	Fernando Torres- Aye	
	Lena Munad- Aye	
	Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye	
	Brody Price- Aye	
	Armina Rahman- Aye	
	Vice President - Morgan Minkler: \$0	
	S. Kumar Motioned, M. Gholikhamseh seconded	
	-No abstentions	
	Director of Legislation: Fernando Torres: \$0	
	S. Kumar motioned, L. Munad seconded	
	-No abstentions	
	Director of Events Mona Gholikhamseh: \$700	
	S. Kumar motioned, L. Munad seconded	
	Roll call:	
	Lara Wiedemeier- Aye	
	Morgan Minkler- Aye	
	Fernando Torres- Aye	

Lena Munad- Aye

Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye

Brody Price- Aye

Armina Rahman- Aye

Director of Programs and Services Sangavi - Suresh

Kumar: \$500

M. Gholikhamseh motioned, M. Minkler seconded

Roll call:

Lara Wiedemeier- Aye

Morgan Minkler- Aye

Fernando Torres- Aye

Lena Munad- Aye

Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye

Brody Price- Aye

Armina Rahman- Aye

Director of Communication - Lena Munad: \$0

S.Kumar motioned, M. Gholikhamseh seconded

-No abstentions

Director of Finance - Brody Price: \$0

S.Kumar motioned, M. Gholikhamseh seconded

-No abstentions

Senator Fernando Torres: \$100

L. Wiedemeier motioned, M. Minkler seconded

Roll call:

Lara Wiedemeier- Aye

Morgan Minkler- Aye

Fernando Torres- Aye

Lena Munad- Aye

Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye

Brody Price- Aye

Armina Rahman- Aye

Senator Armina Rahman: \$100

S.Kumar motioned, M. Gholikhamseh seconded

Roll call:

Lara Wiedemeier- Aye

Morgan Minkler- Aye

Fernando Torres- Aye

Lena Munad- Aye

Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye

Brody Price- Aye

Armina Rahman- Aye

	Senator Lena Munad: \$100 S.Kumar motioned, M. Gholikhamseh seconded Roll call: Lara Wiedemeier- Aye Morgan Minkler- Aye Fernando Torres- Aye Lena Munad- Aye Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye Brody Price- Aye Armina Rahman- Aye	
Increase Golf Cart Budget (Actions) - Lara Wiedemeier	L. Wiedemeier will ask to increase the budget for a Golf Cart by an additional \$3,000 from the \$9,000 budget approved on 9.16.23 L. Wiedemeier explain that the golf cart was more expensive that initially quoted and that the budget would need to be increased. L. Wiedemeier asked for an additional \$3,000 from the \$9,000 budget for a total of up to \$12,000 to be approved. S. Kumar motioned, F. Torres seconded Roll call: Lara Wiedemeier- Abstain Morgan Minkler- Aye Fernando Torres- Aye Lena Munad- Aye Sangavi Suresh Kumar- Aye Brody Price- Aye Armina Rahman- Aye	5 minutes

XI. OFFICER REPORTS

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Lara Wiedemeier - President (Chair) Morgan Minkler - Vice President

Fernando Torres - Director of Legislation
Lena Munad - Director of Communication

Mona Gholikhamseh - Director of Events

Sangavi Suresh Kumar - Director of Programs and Services

Brody Price - Director of Finance

Armina Rahman - Director of Inter-Club Council (ICC)

SENATORS

STUDENT TRUSTEE

Vacant - Las Positas College (LPC) Student Trustee

ADVISORS

Shawn Taylor - Director of Student Equity and Success

Josué Hernández - Program Coordinator of Student Life & Leadership

XII. ANNOUNCEMENTS (3 mins)

XIII. GOOD OF THE ORDER

XIV. ADJOURNMENT (1 min)

L. Wiedemeier adjourned the meeting at 7:06pm