2-14-24 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE REPORT

1- The committee did not meet quorum at our November meeting. So, we had to approve the agenda and minutes from the prior meeting.

2 – During the break the chairs did an approval of funds for seven conferences.

3 – The committee approved funding for six conference requests.

4 - The committee approved 23 spring flex day proposals.

5 - VP Ho came by to speak to the committee about one-time cultural competency funds that are available until the end of the fiscal year. The committee discussed possible ways to spend the funding and asked questions. David and VP Ho will continue to communicate about the funds.

6 – The committee was asked about possibly funding materials for a flex day session. The committee was in favor of the session but not using funds to pay for materials. The committee recommended alternative funding means to the proposer.

7- The committee decided not to make any changes to membership or charge for next year.

8 – The <u>new mileage rate</u> as of Jan. 1 is 67 cents/mile.

9- Variable flex part 1 is due to Rifka by November 15th.

10 – The committee has used up its current budget for the year. There are some reserve funds left that may be used at the committee's discretion. The committee will determine on a case-by-case basis which, if any, other conferences will be funded.

11 - <u>New faculty</u> will meet with John Rosen, Erick Bell, and Liz McWhorter to discuss SLO's and curriculum.

12 - The Teaching Institute is hosting a session on time management and self-care.

13 – Caring campus is working on finalizing their flex day proposal.

14 – The new TLC/Professional Development Center members broke into two groups: (1) function and purpose and (2) physical space. Each group met to discuss their subgroup then shared with the other to get feedback. The plan is to have a final proposal to Dr. Foster by the end of March.

15 - The PATH division has no voting member on the committee.

16 – Sarah Anderson joined the committee as a classified professional at large voting member.

17 – Ayaan Ahmad joined the committee as an LPCSG non-voting member.