Skip to main content
Biology Banner

AA Biology – Biological Sciences

Important Announcement: All Biology courses have new rubrics and numbers starting in Fall 2015

The AA- Biology degree provides students with a strong biology and chemistry foundation to prepare students for entry-level opportunities in academia and industry and for further pursuits in higher education and specialized careers. The AA- Biology degree is designed to prepare students for transfer by fulfilling typical lower-division requirements at four-year institutions. Some variation in degree requirements may exist at a particular four-year institution; therefore, it is essential that the student refer to the catalog of the prospective transfer institution and consult a counselor.

AA – Biology Degree Requirements

Freshman Year

Courses Units
Biology 1A: General Botany (formerly Botany 1) 5
Biology 1B: General Zoology (formerly Zoology 1) 5
Chemistry 1A: General College Chemistry 5
Chemistry 1B: General College Chemistry 5
General Education Courses

Sophomore Year

Courses Units
Biology 1C: Cell and Molecular Biology (formerly Biology 1) 5
Physics 2A*: Introduction to Physics I 4
Physics 2B**: Introduction to Physics II 4
General Education Courses

Total Units Required: 60

Biology Department

Nan Ho
Dean of Math, Science, Engineering and Public Safety
925.424.1344
Email Dean's Office

Jill Carbone
Biology Coordinator
925.424.1308
jcarbone@laspositascollege.edu

Barbara Zingg
925.424.1387
bzingg@laspositascollege.edu

Ann Hight
925.424.1307
ahight@laspositascollege.edu

Michal Shuldman
925.424.1309
mshuldman@laspositascollege.edu

Darcy Ernst
925.424.1397
dernst@laspositascollege.edu

Segal Boaz
sboaz@laspositascollege.edu

Tri-Beta Honor Society

Biology Club

The primary goal of the Biology Club is to bring lovers of biology together. The Club is open to all students excited about making a difference, building friendships, serving the community, and exploring many opportunities for leadership and fun activities.

Additional Student Resources