Skip to main content
Biology Banner

AA Biology – Biological Sciences

Important Announcement: All Biology courses have new rubrics and numbers starting in Fall 2015

The AA - Biology - Emphasis in Allied Health provides students with a strong biology and chemistry foundation to prepare students for entry into Allied Health careers, such as nursing and dental hygiene programs. The AA - Biology - Emphasis in Allied Health is transferable to Nursing and Health Science majors at various universities. Some variation in degree requirements may exist at a particular four-year institution; therefore, it is essential that the student refer to the catalog of the prospective transfer institution and consult a counselor.

AA – Biology - Emphasis in Allied Health Requirements

Freshman Year

Courses Units
Biology 7A: General Human Anatomy (formerly Anatomy 1) 5
Chemistry 30A: Introductory and Applied Chemistry I 4
Chemistry 30B: Introductory and Applied Chemistry II 4
General Education Courses

Sophomore Year

Courses Units
Biology 7B: Human Physiology (formerly Physiology 1) 5
Biology 7C: Microbiology (formerly Microbiology 1) 5
General Education Courses

Total Units Required: 60

Biology Department

Nan Ho
Dean of Math, Science, Engineering and Public Safety
925.424.1344
Email Dean's Office

Jill Carbone
Biology Coordinator
925.424.1308
jcarbone@laspositascollege.edu

Barbara Zingg
925.424.1387
bzingg@laspositascollege.edu

Ann Hight
925.424.1307
ahight@laspositascollege.edu

Michal Shuldman
925.424.1309
mshuldman@laspositascollege.edu

Darcy Ernst
925.424.1397
dernst@laspositascollege.edu

Segal Boaz
sboaz@laspositascollege.edu

Tri-Beta Honor Society

Biology Club

The primary goal of the Biology Club is to bring lovers of biology together. The Club is open to all students excited about making a difference, building friendships, serving the community, and exploring many opportunities for leadership and fun activities.

Additional Student Resources