mu alpha theta logo

Las Positas College Math Society
Mu Alpha Theta Honor Society

The purpose of the Las Positas College Math Society is to promote scholarship in, and enjoyment and understanding of, mathematics amongst Las Positas College students. Any Las Positas College student who has an interest in mathematics may join the society.  Students may join the society even if they are unable to attend talks. Dues are $10 each semester.

The Mu Alpha Theta Honor Society is a national honor society open to any student with a 3.0 GPA in all math courses from College Algebra/Precalculus and above. Club members who meet the requirements for the Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society will automatically be given membership in that organization and their transcripts will be updated to reflect that membership.

There are a number of mathematics-related scholarships available. These scholarships are sponsored by a variety of organizations and individuals. Students may apply for these scholarships during the spring semester of each academic year. Click here for a list of the scholarships available.

Math Society Meetings and Events for Fall 2017

The Math Society meets the second and fourth Mondays of the month, from 3:45-4:45 p.m. in room 2204. The meetings are used to introduce students to fun and interesting mathematical concepts not traditionally experienced in the classroom. Some meetings are devoted to practicing  the American Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges Student Math League competition problems. Some other meetings are student presentations of their projects, puzzles, games, movies and documentaries related to mathematics. Occasionally we invite speakers from other colleges to give presentation.

For more information about the Math Society and the Mu Alpha Theta Honor Society, contact one of the faculty advisors.

  • Faculty Advisors: Ruchira Majumdar, 925.424.1345 and Michael Peterson, 925.424.1327

  • Fall 2017 Society Officers

    • President: Christopher Yang

    • Vice President: Victor Sandoval

    • Secretary: Safia Yusuf

    • Treasurer: Justin Cher

    • ICC Representative: Aref Aboud

Print this Page Email this Page

Page last modified: October 16, 2017