Chemistry

Part-Time Faculty

Beverly Symmank Beverly Symmank, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

e-mail: symmank@comcast.net
phonemail: 925-373-5800 ext. 2458 Ph.D. Stanford University in Organic Chemistry
B.S. Southern Oregon University
(formerly Southern Oregon State College)

Courses: Chemistry 1A, 1B, 30A, 30B and 31 at LPC


Rob Schmidt
Rob Schmidt
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty and
Scientist at Lawence Livermore National Lab (LLNL)


email: rschmidt@laspositascollege.edu

M.S., Chemistry, Oregon State University
B.S., Chemistry, University of California, Irvine
Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Navy (retired)

Courses: Chemistry 31, 30A, 30B

Ed Brennan

Edward Brennan, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Ph.D. in Soil Chemistry at Colorado State University
M.S. at Colorado State University
B.S. in Soil and Water Conservation at Colorado State University

email: ebrennan@laspositascollege.edu
Courses at LPC: Chemistry 1A, 1B, 30A, 31


Anthony Chuma

Anthony Chuma, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Postdoctoral Researcher: Stanford University (Stanford, CA) with Dr. Julia Rice (CPIMA)
PhD in Chemistry: University of Arkansas (Fayetteville, AR), with Prof. Peter Pulay (Quantum Chemistry)
B.S. Newman University (Wichita, KS)
A.S. Butler County Community College (El Dorado, KS)

achuma@laspositascollege.edu
Courses at LPC: Chem 31, 30A, 30B​, 1A, 1B


Sue King-Irwin

Sue King-Irwin
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

email: sking@laspositascollege.edu
M.S., Chemistry, Cal State University, East Bay
B.S., Chemistry, Occidental College (Los Angeles)

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 30A, 31, 1A, 1B




Chip Ungermann

Charles "Chip" Ungermann.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

1975 Ph.D. Indiana University, Inorganic Chemistry
19 years chemical R & D industrial research. Catalysts and adsorbents for oil refining, and home products.
15 years teaching chemistry, physical science and math for the Livermore school district high schools.

email: cungermann@laspositascollege.edu

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 30A, 31


Charlie Gluchowski

Charlie Gluchowski, PhD
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

PhD, Organic Chemistry, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
BS, Chemistry, Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ
Professional experience: Medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry, drug discovery, drug development and biotechnology.​

email: CGluchowski@laspositascollege.edu

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 30A, 30B, 1B


Russell Jensen, PhD

Russell Jensen, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology
M.S. in Biochemistry at San Francisco State University
B.S. in Biochemistry/Physiology at San Francisco State University

email:rjensen@laspositascollege.edu
Courses at LPC: Chemistry 1B


Niloufar Hadei

Nilofar Hadei, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry: York University (Toronto, Canada) With Dr. Michael Organ
Postdoctoral degree in Organometallic Chemistry: York University (Toronto, Canada)
2009-present: Teaching Chemistry at community colleges

email: nhadei@laspositascollege.edu

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 30A, 31, 12A, 12B


Shakila Tobwala

Shakila Tobwala
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Postdoctoral Researcher: Missouri University of Science & Technology (Rolla, MO) with Dr. Nuran Ercal
Ph.D. in Chemistry: North Dakota State University (Fargo, ND)
Master’s Degree: Eastern Michigan University (Ypsilanti, MI)

email: stobwala@laspositascollege.edu

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 30B




Gabriela Chirica

Gabriela Chirica, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

B.E. Organic Chemistry University of Cluj, Romania
2001 Ph.D. Analytical Chemistry and Biochemistry, Oregon State University with Prof Vincent Remcho http://chemistry.oregonstate.edu/content/remcho-vincent
2001-2012 Scientist at Sandia National Lab
2012-present Teaching Science and STEM, Livermore School District

Email: gchirica@gmail.com

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 31 and 30A


Santosh Gupta

Santosh Gupta
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

2009-presentteachingChemistryinCommunitycolleges
MS in Organic Chemistry from Kurukshetra University, India
BS in Medical Sciences from Kurukshetra University,India

email: sgupta@laspositascollege.edu

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 30A, 31




Nick Myllenbeck, Chemistry Instructor

Nick Myllenbeck
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty and Scientist at Sandia National Lab


MS in Chemistry from University of Wisconsin, Madison
BS in Chemistry from UC Berkeley
Attended LPC

email: nmyllenbeck@laspositascollege.edu

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 31




Part-Time Faculty from recent years

 


Allan Peoples
H. Allan Peoples, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Phonemail: 925.424.1000 x2216
Website: http://www.chementor.com
email:clehap@ecis.com

B.Sc., University of Strathclyde
M.Sc., University of Calgary
Ph.D., University of Utah


Courses: Chemistry 30A and 30B
Dr. Peoples retired from Las Positas College in 2013.



Mavrik Zavarin

Mavrik Zavarin, Ph.D.
Part-Time Faculty and Staff Member at LLNL

Ph.D. from UC Berkeley in Soils Chemistry
B.S. from UC Berkeley in Chemistry

email: mzavarin@laspositascollege.edu

Courses: Chem 30A and 30B

Professor Gheorghiu

Mircea D. Gheorghiu, Ph.D.
Part-Time Chemistry Faculty

Email: mgheorghiu@laspositascollege.edu
B.S. Polytechnic Institute, Bucharest, Romania
M.S. Polytechnic Institute, Bucharest, Romania
Ph.D. Polytechnic Institute, Bucharest, Romania
PostDoc: Cornell University

Courses at LPC: Chemistry 1A, 12A


Chemistry Department

Michael Ansell
925.424.1399

Adeliza Flores
925.424.1334

Richard Grow
925.424.1341

or contact:
Nan Ho
Dean of Math, Science, Engineering and Public Safety
925.424.1182

Meet the Chemistry
Department

Print this Page Email this Page

Page last modified: October 30, 2017