Skip to main content
Biology Banner

Biology Majors & Transfer

Important Announcement: All Biology courses have new rubrics and numbers starting in Fall 2015

Las Positas College students who plan to major in the Biological Sciences can complete lower-division course requirements for transfer to Biology programs at 4-year colleges or universities. Typically, students need to take our core sequence of Biology Majors courses (Biology 1A, Biology 1B, and Biology 1C). Biology 30 is recommended, but not required, for Biology 1A and 1B.

Other typical lower-division requirements for majoring in biology include chemistry, physics, and math, plus general education courses.

Las Positas offers a typical pathway for students who plan to transfer and major in the Biological Sciences. You must consult your desired transfer institutions, the Transfer Center, and/or Counseling for the most up-to-date information.

Biology Major and Pre-Professional Pathway

Biology Department

Nan Ho
Dean of Math, Science, Engineering and Public Safety
925.424.1344
Email Dean's Office

Jill Carbone
Biology Coordinator
925.424.1308
jcarbone@laspositascollege.edu

Barbara Zingg
925.424.1387
bzingg@laspositascollege.edu

Ann Hight
925.424.1307
ahight@laspositascollege.edu

Michal Shuldman
925.424.1309
mshuldman@laspositascollege.edu

Darcy Ernst
925.424.1397
dernst@laspositascollege.edu

Segal Boaz
sboaz@laspositascollege.edu

Tri-Beta Honor Society

Biology Club

The primary goal of the Biology Club is to bring lovers of biology together. The Club is open to all students excited about making a difference, building friendships, serving the community, and exploring many opportunities for leadership and fun activities.

Additional Student Resources